Skip to main content
Advertising

Seahawks Blog

Danny O'Neil covers the Seahawks for The Seattle Times.



September 25, 2012 at 9:28 AM

  • Share:
           
  • Comments (381)
  • Print

The Golden fleece: NFL today upholds Seahawks' victory

The NFL has released a statement regarding the final play from scrimmage in Monday's game.

The league stated that Golden Tate should have been penalized for pass interference, but said that the replay review of the game was both allowed under the rules and -- in the league's opinion -- correct in not overturning the play as it was called on the field.

Here's the statement from the league:

"In Monday's game between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks, Seattle faced a 4th-and-10 from the Green Bay 24 with eight seconds remaining in the game.

"Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

"While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

"When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.

"Replay official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

"Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

"The result of the game is final."



Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
sure, the pack got jobbed. but how many times have the seahawks been jobbed? what... MORE
Will this stop the complaining? No! Somehow, people in the rest of the country do not... MORE
"...karma's bound to be a bitch..." The Seahawks could win another six... MORE

News where, when and how you want it

Email Icon



Advertising