Skip to main content

Originally published January 21, 2014 at 6:21 PM | Page modified January 21, 2014 at 8:22 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments (1)
  • Print

Russell Wilson, Bishop Sankey headline Sports Star of the Year on Wednesday

Quarterback Russell Wilson, Seahawks and former Husky runningt back Bishop Sankey among nominees for 79th MTR Western Sports Star of the Year on Wednesday at Benaroya Hall.

Seattle Times staff reporter

MTR Western Sports Star of the Year

Schedule: Silent auction, 5:30 p.m. Show, 7:30 p.m.

Ticket prices: $100 (show and VIP reception); $25 (show only). Available at Benaroya Hall Box Office, or by calling 206-215-4747.

Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
Russell Wilson and Bishop Sankey are two class acts. Good role models for kids. MORE


The Seahawks’ Russell Wilson and the Huskies’ Bishop Sankey are among the headliners nominated for awards at the 79th MTR Western Sports Star of the Year, a Seattle red-carpet event to be held Wednesday night at Benaroya Hall.

Joining Wilson and Sankey as Male Sports Star nominees are the Mariners’ Hisashi Iwakuma, Sounders FC’s DeAndre Yedlin, the Red Sox’s Jon Lester, and the UW men’s soccer team.

Nominees for the Female Sports Star are Seattle University women’s basketball coach Joan Bonvicini; Krista Vansant of UW volleyball; Marti Malloy of USA Judo; mountaineer Melissa Arnot; Micaela Castain of Washington State soccer; and Storm/WNBA legend Tina Thompson.

ESPN’s Kenny Mayne will host the event. Among the guests scheduled to appear are Sankey and fellow former UW running back Greg Lewis, along with former UW basketball star Quincy Pondexter, now with the Memphis Grizzlies.

The Seahawks, bound for the Super Bowl against the Denver Broncos on Feb. 2, were nominated for Sports Story of the Year.

Other finalists for Story of the Year: the Eastlake Little League team from Sammamish; the Husky Stadium reopening; the UW volleyball team; the UW crew team; the Rainier Beach High boys basketball team; and the Seattle U men’s and women’s soccer teams.

Others scheduled to be honored are Zack Lystedt, who will be give the Seattle Children’s Hospital Inspirational Award after his 2006 brain injury inspired the Lystedt Law to protect athletes who are suspected of having a concussion; Emerald Downs president Ron Crockett for his philanthropy work; former Washington State baseball coach Bobo Brayton; and famed skiing/snowboarding filmmaker Warren Miller.

Fan voting determined the male, female and sports Story of the Year. Winners will be announced during the event.

Adam Jude: 206-464-2364 or On Twitter: @a_jude.

News where, when and how you want it

Email Icon

Amazon's culture clash.

Amazon's culture clash.

A three-part series by Jay Greene, looking at how Europe is challenging the online retail giant.


Partner Video


The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►