Follow us:
Rick Steves' Europe

Rick Steves' Europe

Visitors to the Avebury circle, which encloses nearly 30 acres, are free to revel among the stones.
Rick Steves/Rick Steves Europe
Tuesday, July 29
Meandering among Britain’s ancient stone circles | Rick Steves' Europe

Stonehenge is the best known, but the country is dotted with the ancient sacred circles.

Tuesday, July 22

Toss your schedule (sometimes) when traveling | Rick Steves' Europe

Rick Steves remembers, and celebrates, the pleasures of being more spontaneous on European trips.

Tuesday, July 15

Be a happy student of the French art of living | Rick Steves' Europe

Slow down and connect with the locals through home stays, cooking schools, wine tastings

Tuesday, July 8

Save cash abroad — follow local tipping customs | Rick Steves' Europe

As a matter of principle, the local price should prevail. Here’s a roundup of what’s usual and where.

Sunday, July 6

Witness to history sparked travel career | Rick Steves' Europe

European travel specialist Rick Steves remembers an encounter with an eyewitness to an assassination that touched off World War I.

Tuesday, June 17

Don’t miss Denmark’s second city | Rick Steves' Europe

Aarhus is a lively cultural hub with notable attractions, including art museum.

Tuesday, June 10

The many layers of Istanbul | Rick Steves' Europe

Both ancient and modern, Turkey’s cultural crossroads can rival Paris in its elegance.

Tuesday, June 3

Traveling smartly with your smartphone | Rick Steves' Europe

European travel specialist Rick Steves gives tips on how to use your mobile device and avoid high roaming fees

Tuesday, May 27

Going Dutch in Holland’s countryside | Rick Steves' Europe

Tranquil towns, dikes and, yes, wooden shoes in the “polder” country.

Tuesday, May 20

Seeing the magic of Scotland’s Highlands | Rick Steves' Europe

From captivating history and scenery to stone circles and music.

Tuesday, May 13

Europe’s oddball museums broaden perspectives | Rick Steves' Europe

From a Barbie museum to shoe history to the Museum of Broken Relationships, there’s plenty beyond the usual.