Skip to main content

Originally published Wednesday, April 10, 2013 at 9:08 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments (1)
  • Print

Seattle police chiefs of the past 50 years

Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
I thought George Tielsch was a fine Police Chief. It always reminded me of the story of... MORE


January 1961-November 1969: Frank Ramon (retired after accusations he interefered with a gambling investigation that exposed corruption)

November 1969-September 1970: W.F. Moore, C.R. Gain and Edward Toothman (acting chiefs)

September 1970-March 1974: George Tielsch

March 1974-March 1978: Robert Hanson

March 1978-February 1979: H.A. Vanden Wyer

Febrary 1979-February 1994: Patrick Fitzsimons

February1994-February 2000: Norman Stamper (resigned in wake of World Trade Organization riots)

February 2000-July 2000: Herb Johnson (acting chief)

July 2000-March 2009: Gil Kerlikowske (tenure marred by deadly Mardi Gras riots; resigned to become federal drug czar)

May 2009-May 2013: John Diaz (in 2011, Justice Department says it finds evidence of biased policing, demands SPD overhaul)

News where, when and how you want it

Email Icon

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►