Follow us:
Jerry Large

Jerry Large

Sunday, August 17
Let’s fix mental-care hot mess | Jerry Large

Mental-health care is overdue for the overhaul the recent state Supreme Court ruling might spur.

Wednesday, August 13

Shooting in Missouri shows the need for change | Jerry Large

The shooting in Ferguson, Mo., is the latest racial flash point, but the underlying problems exist all over.

Sunday, August 10

Seattle’s public-housing plan comes with complications | Jerry Large

The Seattle Housing Authority will test its ability to move tenants into better jobs, and independent housing.

Thursday, August 7

Ebola provides a painful lesson on Liberia | Jerry Large

Two doctors say a stronger Liberia would not be prey to Ebola.

Sunday, August 3

A merger with the power to help kids | Jerry Large

Nonprofits are helping each other help the community through a merger.

Wednesday, July 30

Why we should all care | Jerry Large

Communities suffer when people don’t feel and act connected.

Sunday, July 27

Using your brain to capacity, no miracles necessary | Jerry Large

We use all of our brain capacity, but we don’t always do it well. There are cures for that but no miracles.

Wednesday, July 23

We’re only No. 18? Our state not so great for our kids | Jerry Large

A new national report shows that kids in Washington are better off than children in most states, but still too many lag behind.

Sunday, July 20

Goodwill’s recycling work turns out good people | Jerry Large

Graduates of the social-service organization’s programs pass on their social skills and altruism at Goodwill.

Wednesday, July 16

Fight crime with good jobs and schools, UW professor says | Jerry Large

University of Washington professor Robert Crutchfield’s new book — “Get A Job: Labor Markets, Economic Opportunity, and Crime” — is based on professional research and personal experiences, and offers suggestions to fight crime that revolve around employment and educatio

Sunday, July 13

Until we act on gun laws, we can’t move on from tragedies | Jerry Large

Keep gun-control momentum alive for the vote on Initiative 594.